Starting to Write

This blog and this post are my first step into the world of writing about religion and faith. I’ve managed websites for years (mostly genealogical) and designed a cooking blog but I have never considered writing about my beliefs.

For the last few months I have been nearly daily journaling about my bible studies, and have certainly had some huge *moments* to shake my faith that have made me reexamine my self, my motivations, and my relationship with God, in a way that has made me a much stronger person.

Then, the creation of this blog was sparked by a few different things coming together all at once. First, I read the Slate article about Rachel Held Evans, and through that visited her blog for the first time. Reading back in it, I was blown away by the critical thought which I have been seeking in my religious growth. Secondly, my personal bible study has been leading me to deeper introspection, and has been teaching me things that I feel are worth sharing on a public level. Also, I have been reading more blogs since discovering Rachel’s, which have made me appreciate the level of discourse that can occur through use of blogs and comments. I hope this will be a useful tool in my spiritual growth and that others may find it useful as well.

 

 

Leave a comment